Indie Authors VS. Tradionally published Authors

 This  is a debate that has been going on  for  quite a while now and everyone seems to have taken a side!
I will tell you that I  have been both “traditonally” published and  Independently published, and I prefer being Independent!
Most of Indie author’s books are creative, interesting, and well crafted. I think the old idea of having to fit into a certain mold in order to get the “Big Publishing Houses” to notice you, is over. The field is now more level, writers who have marvelous stories or personal journey’s that they want to publish, can and do, with differing levels of success. I have been writing most of my life, and have been published in elegant “Little ” magazines, newspapers, magazines and then online. And now I am a published Author and proud of my stories. I am very honored to say that I have gotten good reviews of my books and am currently working on another book project. I feel that as a writer, we are limitless in what we can accomplish. I love writing. I also love having complete control over my books. I have had the opportunity to work with wonderful illustrators, I choose the amount of words, the flow, and I say exactly what I want to say, with a little help from my editor! Then as with every writer, it is up to the public to decide if they like it enough to buy it. If it is worthy of a good read, they will buy it. The Big Houses are also no longer helping to promote the authors works as much or at all in some cases. So the marketing ends up falling on the author no matter what. I think the elitist attitude of the “Traditionaly Published Authors” is giving way to the opportunity for all writers work to be seen, and then let the public decide.

There is a song titled “Move On” from the musical”Sunday In The Park With George’ A few of the lines that really speak to me as a writer are:

“Stop worrying if your vision is new, let others make that decision, they usually do. You keep moving on..”
This song video is on “youtube” and is the perfect thing to watch if you need to get motivated!

Writers now have a chance to test their mettle against public opinion, they get a chance to do something that they have always wanted to do. I say let the public decide what they want to read.There is room in this world for traditional and Independent authors.

About wolfecarolyn

I am an author and free-lance writer that has had 5 books published. I love writing, singing karaoke and am an animal activist and vegetarian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indie Authors VS. Tradionally published Authors

  1. Pingback: Indie Authors VS. Tradionally published Authors « PEGASI INTERNATIONAL ALBANIA

Leave a Reply

